The mission of the Directorate of Medicine (DoM) like the rest of Mulago Hospital and the College of Health Sciences is tripartite and includes patient care, training and research.

The department is divided into the following specialty units:

Infectious Diseases, Gastroenterology, Endocrinology, Heamatology, Neurology, Dermatology, Pulmonology, Nephrology, Palliative medicine and Cardiology, Rheumatology, Skin and STD unit,, Tuberculosis, Accident and Emergency, Psychiatry, Assessment Centre, Radiotherapy, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and Medical Social Work.